Promoting Education Through High School BBQ Teams

The High School BBQ Cookers Association is a 501(c)(3) non profit educational organization that preserves and promotes bbq education and cook offs. This is done through State High School BBQ Championships, Regional State cook offs, and various community and youth-oriented programs and events around bbq. The High School BBQ Cookers Association goal is to enrich the lives of our student cookers through bbq cook offs, promoting family values, life skills, character development, educational events and scholarships while establishing strict guide lines and academic standards that will allow our student cooks to excel in the classroom and in their community while achieving their educational goals and dreams. All revenue generated is reinvested into various educational programs, cook offs, and scholarships. The High School BBQ Cookers Association is true and committed to its mission of supporting Youth, Vocational Education, Agriculture, and Community. 

  • Home


2018-2019 Texas High School BBQ Cookers Association

Board Of Directors and Officers

President - Mr. Mike Erickson, Burnet High School

Vice President - Mr. Chuck Schoenfeld, 

Texas Department of Public Safety

1st Vice President - Mr. Michael Tex Olson,

 Director of Community Development, City of McGregor

2nd Vice President -  Dan Arnold,

President - Sucklebusters BBQ Sauces and Rubs

Treasurer - Marcus McMellon,

 President Escoffier School Of Culinary Arts

Secretary - Jan Elliott, Briscoe Ranch Cook Off Co-Founder / President - South Texas CattleWomen

Russell Woodward, Beef Loving Texans / Texas Beef Council

Deb Toh ,Texas Restaurant Association Education Foundation


Region 1 Educator: Mr. Joel Skipper  - Waxahachie HS, Culinary

Region 2 Educator:  - Agriculture 

Region 3 Educator: Mr. David Robertson - Ben Barber Innovation Center, Culinary

Region 4 Educator:  Mr. Junior Ramirez - OD Wyatt HS, Culinary

Region 5 Educator: Ms. Kate Good - Richardson HS, Culinary

Region 6 Educator: Ms. Leslie Rasco - Chapell Hill HS, Culinary

Region 7 Educator: Mr. Travis Hawthorne - Liberty Hill HS, Culinary

Region 8 Educator: Mr. Brandon Evans - Burnet HS, Agriculture

Region 9 Educator: Mr. Ron Krobit - Comfort HS, Agriculture

Region 10 Educator:  Mr. Tracey Cortez, Lanier HS,Agriculture

Region 11 Educator: Mr. Luke Reed - Richardson HS, Agriculture

Region 12 Educator: Rob McDonald, Cedar Ridge HS Culinary

Post Secondary: Mr. Marty Stout - Johnson and Wales University

Agriculture: Cowboy Chef Mike Netwon - Rancher

Media: Kell Phelps - Editor National BBQ News

High School BBQ, Inc. 501(c)(3)

PHIL 4:!3

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software